2023/04/11 - A Change of Pace
Back to Blog Directory

After going to all the trouble of integrating an external blog feed on my website, I've decided to do it the old fashioned way.

My reasons being is that I figure it's better to keep the blog intended for this website on the actual website itself. That way if something happens to the external service, this website isn't affected and any backups of this website will also backup the blog.

It also helps me remember to keep up on my website rather than letting it stagnate, and is perhaps a bit truer to the spirit of the old web that I keep pursuing for some reason. Automation is convenient, but perhaps this way of doing things has its own benefits.

It also helps in that I don't really have to worry about belonging on another platform. My posts are entirely my own on a website that is entirely my own (well, as much my own as it can be without actually hosting it myself on my own machinery). Dreamwidth is nice and I'm fond of its more old-fashioned design philosophy and the fact that it's open-source, but I feel self-conscious being part of a community where I don't particularly mesh with the general concensus. It's not like I can't exist in such communities, but my website is supposed to be a bit more personal than that. A place where perhaps I can stop caring so much about appearances.

And that's kind of the kicker. Appearances. Everyone presents themselves as something, and I think even this website is no exception... but in the case of my website, I'm at least trying to present parts of myself as I think they are. But sometimes it's hard to keep that in focus, and so easy to get swept up in trying to meet some sort of imagined expectation.

So uh, that Dreamwidth blog? Probably going to delete it or abandon it. I don't like leaving loose accounts laying around so probably deletion. It's funny because I put probably way more time into writing Dreamwidth posts than I ought've, and yet I don't really think any of them are all that worth keeping.

That's all for today's post. I'll see you on the flipside!